Environmental Advisory Council

The Environmental Advisory Council (EAC) is a five-member advisory council to the Board of Commissioners. The members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners for terms of one-to-two years. EAC members must be residents of the Township. The council meets the 1st Wednesday of each month.

The purpose of the EAC is to advise the Township Board of Commissioners on matters dealing with protection, conservation, management and use of natural resources, including air, tree, land and water resources located within the limits of Upper Gwynedd Township, to assist in the ongoing efforts of the Board of Commissioners to preserve open space within the Township, and to help educate residents of Upper Gwynedd about the importance of environmental protection.  Council members are expected to help execute committee goals and objectives; it is a working committee.   

The Council shall have the following advisory powers and duties:

  • To identify environmental problems and recommend plans and programs for their resolution to the appropriate governmental agency of the Township, which shall include but not be limited to the Planning Commission and the Board of Commissioners.
  • To make recommendations to the possible use of open land areas in the Township.
  • To keep an index of all open areas in the Township, publicly or privately owned, including but not limited to flood-prone areas, swamps, and other unique natural areas, for the purpose of obtaining information on the proper use of such areas.
  • To advise the appropriate local government agency in the acquisition of property, both real and personal, by gift, purchase, grant, bequest, easement, devise or lease in matters dealing with the purpose for which the Council is created.
  • To make recommendations and regulations for the care and protection of shade trees.
  • Review of all land development plans to encourage use of native plants and environmentally sustainable practices where feasible.

Council Members

Name Title
Jonathan West Chair
Joanne Walker Member
Scott McCartney Member
Thomas Alvarez Associate Member
Erica Antoine Member
Brian Hutchison Member