Home / Government / Boards & Commissions

Boards & Commissions

share with:

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a nine-member advisory board to the Board of Commissioners. The members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners for terms of four years. Planning Commission members must be residents of the Township.

VACANCY Chairman
John C. Lancaster Vice-Chairman
Kathryn Carlson Secretary
Andrew Falker Member
Chris Carroll Member
John Tierney Member
Kenneth Weirman Member
Scott Bachman Member
Gilbert Silverman Member

The responsibilities of the Commission include review and recommendations concerning subdivision and land development plans, preparation and/or recommendation of ordinances regarding zoning and subdivision and land development, and promotion of interest in the Comprehensive Plan.

In carrying out its responsibilities, the Commission may hold hearings and make site visits to properties being considered for development.

Park and Recreation Board

The Park and Recreation Advisory Board consists of nine members who are appointed by the Board of Commissioners.

The Park and Recreation Board was established for the purpose of reviewing and making recommendations to the Board of Commissioners and the Director of Parks and Recreation concerning the improvement, maintenance, and use of existing facilities; the acquisition and development of new facilities; the creation of new recreational programs; and the development of proposals with regard to the adequacy of Township Open Space.

Since its inception in 1983, the Park and Recreation Advisory Board has been instrumental in the development of several small park/playground areas in the Rexdale, Gwyneddeer and Sugar Valley sections of the Township and the expansion of the Township's Park and Recreation facilities and programs.

Rob Nagele Chairman
John S. Murray Vice Chairman
Kathleen Kane Johnson Secretary
Michael L. Zumpino Member
Kathleen Dooley Member
Matthew Duardo Member
Meredith Ziemba Member
JR Roach Member
Amy Juarez Member

Zoning Hearing Board

The Zoning Hearing Board is a three-member board appointed by the Board of Commissioners, along with an alternate member. The alternate member is utilized to fill in should a member not be available to attend a meeting or there is a conflict of interest. The term of office for each member is three years.

The Zoning Hearing Board also has a solicitor. The solicitor is appointed by the Upper Gwynedd Township Zoning Hearing Board.

Henry V. Ratke Chairman
Louis Lanzilotta Secretary
A. Kirk Field Member
Jack Ferguson Alternate
Robert J. Edelmayer, Esquire Solicitor

The primary purpose of the Zoning Hearing Board is to help assure fair and equitable application and administration of the zoning ordinance by hearing appeals on the Zoning Officers' decisions and by granting relief from the literal enforcement of the ordinance in certain hardship situations. The Board has no legislative power; it can neither make nor modify zoning policy. It does not have enforcement powers. It is a quasi-judicial body in that its powers are to some extent judicial in nature. The Zoning Hearing Board schedules hearings on applications and appeals that come before it, takes evidence, and issues written decisions with findings of fact and conclusions of law. The Board's scope of activities is limited to those permitted by the Municipalities Planning Code and the Upper Gwynedd Township Zoning Ordinance. The Zoning Hearing Board meets the fourth Tuesday of each month unless a holiday conflict necessitates a different date.  Meeting agendas are a function of new or continued appeals and the need for timely hearings as required by State Statute.

More pages found in Boards & Commissions





Subscribe to News Alerts

Subscribe to email News to have the latest news, events and alerts delivered directly to your inbox.

Create Account

No thank you I already subscribe